djDecks

It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:43 pm
View unanswered posts
View active topics

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:59 am 
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:17 am
Posts: 155
Location: Poland (Krakow)
When rescaling the application window I've noticed that the contents are bottom-aligned. Is it supposed to be like that?

_________________
optik | me@mixcloud | greymatter.pl
gig setup: MacBook (dual 2.1GHz, 2.5GB) / u46dj mk1, djDecks on WinXP, SSL CV02 wax, BCR2000 controller, Korg NANOPad


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 1:22 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
optik wrote:
When rescaling the application window I've noticed that the contents are bottom-aligned. Is it supposed to be like that?

No, that will be fixed later.

I don't know yet about separate windows or everything in one window. I think I will add the skin options to do both.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 10:09 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
New beta. Custom menus now work, which makes the Dunks1984 skin a little more useable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:40 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
Most effects are now working.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:47 am 
Regular

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 39
this latest build has brought things back to normal for me (see the Vinyl Control thread) ... djdecks no longer crashes on startup, but Vinyl Control still isn't working ... at least I can open it again for now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:49 pm 
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:10 pm
Posts: 635
Coming along nicely shouldn't be long now. :D

The graphics look different to me is this just osx? more contrast and I have noticed some discrepancies with some images transparent ones on the volume sliders on mt 1984 skin for example.

Most of the tools I use to make skins are on XP are there any good text editors for osx (free)? I want to give a update to 1984 looks like It only needs the text editing. I may change some of the graphics as they do look a bit rough on the mac os though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:48 am 
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 2119
Location: denver, CO
Dunks wrote:
Most of the tools I use to make skins are on XP are there any good text editors for osx (free)? I want to give a update to 1984 looks like It only needs the text editing. I may change some of the graphics as they do look a bit rough on the mac os though.
Huh... I think most of the graphics on my skin look BETTER in OS X. I can't put my finger on why it looks different to me at all, but it does. Still, I've not had an issue where I've been tempted to change the graphics in OS X after finishing them in Windows.

I admit that I've not yet made the full switch to skin development on the Mac, which is a big reason I've been even slower than I'd hoped completing my skin, but I've started solving that problem by having my Macbook near a Windows machine, having them both connected to the same network drive, and using Synergy to give me mouse and keyboard control of the Windows box from my lappy. This seems to work well fr me so I haven't gotten too far into exploring this program yet, but it looks pretty good so far if you don't want to work from multiple machines:

http://www.barebones.com/products/textwrangler/

It's free and it's made by the same people who make BBEdit, which is widely considered one of the best text editors out there for Mac as far as I know. If you decide you need the full-featured big sister, it runs $125. You can demo it for free.

_________________
2006 15.4" Macbook Pro
2.16GHz Core Duo
2048 MB RAM
Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro / MOTU 828 mkII


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:39 am 
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:10 pm
Posts: 635
How good is that parallels? I have doubts about running 2 os's at the same time but would be a big time saver.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:51 pm 
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 2119
Location: denver, CO
Dunks wrote:
How good is that parallels? I have doubts about running 2 os's at the same time but would be a big time saver.

I hated Parallels. It worked well for a while and was very convenient, and their "coherence" mode is really impressive, but it kept wrecking the administrative accounts and I'd eventually have to reinstal windows. I've heard much better things about VMWare's Fusion.

_________________
2006 15.4" Macbook Pro
2.16GHz Core Duo
2048 MB RAM
Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro / MOTU 828 mkII


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:25 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
I personally use Crossover regularly now. It's based on Wine, but seems to work with a lot less tweaking, and is even great for games.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:33 pm 
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:10 pm
Posts: 635
I tried Crossover and It works quite well but doesn't work with the programs I use to skin with (knobman and skinman) as I cant save the files, makes it crash. I did manage to save 1 file, only to find It was corrupted. I may buy it as it seems to work well with everything else I use.

I also tried Crossover games but that didn't work with the only game I really play which is trackmania nations forever even though they say its supported.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:55 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
Strange that it doesn't work, I also use crossover games with TrackMania Nations Forever, and that works. (It does have some small problems like when you first start it after a few minutes it locks up but then runs fine after another minute)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:11 pm 
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:10 pm
Posts: 635
Adion wrote:
Strange that it doesn't work, I also use crossover games with TrackMania Nations Forever, and that works. (It does have some small problems like when you first start it after a few minutes it locks up but then runs fine after another minute)


I think It has something to do with my graphics card just hangs forever.

Whats your rank on TMN? Im on loveshackclassic on the uk servers if you ever fancy a race. 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:34 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
New beta.
Tab selections are now stored, Dunks1983.4 skin is working and waveform zoom is working.
Also popup menus now no longer pop up above the screen.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:31 pm 
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 2119
Location: denver, CO
Excellent! I'm really excited to be skinning on the mac side today.

_________________
2006 15.4" Macbook Pro
2.16GHz Core Duo
2048 MB RAM
Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro / MOTU 828 mkII


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:02 pm 
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:17 am
Posts: 155
Location: Poland (Krakow)
Adion, please give us a sign when it'll be a good time to start reporting bugs, skinning problems, inconsistiences between pc & mac version, etc. I've already got a little list of these after testing the latest beta with my skins.

_________________
optik | me@mixcloud | greymatter.pl
gig setup: MacBook (dual 2.1GHz, 2.5GB) / u46dj mk1, djDecks on WinXP, SSL CV02 wax, BCR2000 controller, Korg NANOPad


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:25 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
I think it would be good to start reporting skin problems at this time. (Especially things working differently/incorrectly, I'm aware that there are certain values simply not implemented yet)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:07 pm 
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:17 am
Posts: 155
Location: Poland (Krakow)
1) The playlist window magically folds itself upon application start or attempted resizing in all skins I've tested. Though not always and apparently never in Corey's SPM skin.

2) Vertical textfields don't seem to be displayed at all.

3) If the window dragging is supposed to be working, it isn't ;)

4) Would it be possible to turn off the window background: make it transparent and clickable through (just like in the windows version) or at least have the possibility to resize the window so that djDecks doesnt force its size to enclose all children windows?

5) Some of my scripts (eg. layout presents) actually work better (as expected) on OSX :D Some don't work at all (eg. control mode tab switching) but I believe all we need right now is patience.

BTW, Adion, would you mind if we put the test reports in one, general report thread? It's quicker and easier to put all your remarks in one post and some of them just dont fit the into any of the existing threads.

_________________
optik | me@mixcloud | greymatter.pl
gig setup: MacBook (dual 2.1GHz, 2.5GB) / u46dj mk1, djDecks on WinXP, SSL CV02 wax, BCR2000 controller, Korg NANOPad


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:20 pm 
djDecks
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:46 pm
Posts: 6181
Location: Belgium
Thanks for the report, if you think it would be better in a separate thread feel free to do so next time.

1. Playlist window also works fine in Dunks' skins here. Which skin didn't it work in?
It will be resized vertically if it starts larger than your screen, but that should be it.
Resizing the playlist should also work btw.

2&3: They don't work yet indeed.

4: In Mac it is actually just one window, where in the windows version it were multiple windows. Your suggestion on making it transparent/click-through might be interesting, but I think I will probably have to make it possible to load the windows as real windows (especially to allow to move the playlist to another screen for example)
Hiding the playlist for example will currently reduce the size of the container window though.

5: Could you tell me which skin and which script isn't working.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skin Test PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:57 pm 
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:17 am
Posts: 155
Location: Poland (Krakow)
Adion wrote:
1. Playlist window also works fine in Dunks' skins here. Which skin didn't it work in?
It will be resized vertically if it starts larger than your screen, but that should be it.
Resizing the playlist should also work btw.

Yes, the playlist is resizeable and it usually works ok. Except when it's literally starting to gradually fold and ends up as a thin row of labels, buttons and whatnot. I saw this while using Dunks' 1984.4 and both of my skins (mekkatech and Tau).
Btw, the verision of Tau skin that is present online is really outdated - I'll need to upload a recent one before I start sending problem reports.
Adion wrote:
I think I will probably have to make it possible to load the windows as real windows (especially to allow to move the playlist to another screen for example)

That's a good idea. But what about window title bars? They can be disabled/replaced, cant they?
Adion wrote:
Hiding the playlist for example will currently reduce the size of the container window though.

Yep, that's right, this works ok.
You'll better see what I mean when I prepare and upload some screenshots showing djDecks+Tau
working alongside Rapid Evolution (replace RE with any software that needs to have its windows constantly visible).
Adion wrote:
5: Could you tell me which skin and which script isn't working.

I'll need some time to test it again and note things down ;)

_________________
optik | me@mixcloud | greymatter.pl
gig setup: MacBook (dual 2.1GHz, 2.5GB) / u46dj mk1, djDecks on WinXP, SSL CV02 wax, BCR2000 controller, Korg NANOPad


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group